Needilup to Jerrimungup - A Short Ride? - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2011

Needilup to Jerrimungup

Got an early start (early for me - 8:30) and cycled the 14 km to Jerrimungup in the rain. I spent 3 hrs in town getting some breakfast, buying some supplies and updating my crazyguy site. I waited in town for the rain to stop, but it would not do as asked. So I cycled off in the afternoon heading for Ravensthorpe, about 110 km to the east.

About 4 pm I passed a hiway rest stop that had a small gathering of caravaners setting up for the night. I figured it looked like a good place to camp and didn't know what might be available down the road... so I pulled in and introduced myself and set up camp.

It was a lot of fun sitting around the camp fire and listening to everyone talk about their travels. 35 yrs ago I spent about a year and a half hitch hiking across Australia. There was almost no one on the road. Now there are thousands travelling across the country. It's great to see.

It rained all night but cleared up by morning. I was off early in the morning before everyone in camp woke. It was about 85 km to Ravensthorpe and I had to get pedalling...

Highlight: * Camping with the caravaners

The road gets a 4 out of 5 stars: narrow road, but not too much traffic. The trucks are getting bigger....

That's me in the middle, still wearing my raincoat and drying out. They were quite a friendly group - I retired early, as I had a long ride the next day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 527 km (327 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0