Calgary to Rome - Eating Our Way Around Sardinia and Puglia - 2023 - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2023

Calgary to Rome

Well, not really Rome, but the 'burbs

Happily, no new snow this morning to mess up the hour long drive into Calgary.  But it's COLD.  -11 C in Canmore when we woke up. 

After a morning dog walk, I drove Sue to Calgary on the icy highway for her Air Canada flight, and then headed to Gail’s house for a visit.  Sue and I willl arrive about the same time in Rome, but I'm flying direct on Westjet, so get to leave about five hours later. 

Gail kindly drove me to the airport, and I scurried inside, leaving my winter jacket in the vehicle - won't need that in Italy. Gail is working right now, so is unable to join us.  Too bad, because we had lots of fun in Andalucia last year. 

Easy check-in. There was a short line at Westjet and no line for security. I was pleased that there is an oversized X-ray machine in the international zone. The domestic area in Calgary has lost this equipment, so getting a bike checked in is a pain because a manual search is required. 

My flight was not full, and it was nice to have an empty seat beside me on the Dreamliner. I was stressed by no AirTag confirmation that my bike was on board. But it also hadn’t been seen in the airport for a while but the time we departed. I stewed about possible options if my bike didn’t arrive, but ultimately decided that it was likely that a newfangled Dreamliner loads luggage in bins that provide a Faraday cage situation that blocks signals. 

Oh no! Why isn’t my bike on the plane?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Westjet food set a new standard for awful.  Lukewarm rubbery chicken for dinner, and even rubberier (is that a word?) lukewarm eggs for breakfast. 

I arrived in Rome right on time, and switched on the new e-SIM. Hurray. That was easy. And my bike AirTag has not been seen in Calgary for 10 hours, so it must be on the plane. But not so fast. Sue got there ahead of me, and somehow got her eSIM going, but messed up her primary Telus account. She had Euro data though, so it’s not the end of the world.

We are staying at a Hotel B&B near the airport, where I’ll leave my bike bag for the duration of the trip and then stay again before my departure. It’s in a neighbourhood that looks post-apocalyptic - no greenery at all, but it very conveniently located next to a shopping centre. 

Got my bike assembled without swearing or tears, and we celebrated with a beer at the nearby mall before a quick pre-dinner nap and shower. We returned to the same takeout place for quite acceptable pizza slices and beer for dinner. Neither of us were ready for a full meal. Early to bed, fingers crossed that we sleep well. 

Yikes. That’s a lot of parts to put back together. I even removed the brake rotors this time, because one got a bit bent on my trip home last year.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Success! And the bike safely stowed in the left-luggage room.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our first Italian beer. Not the last.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith ClassenOff to a great start! Go girls!!!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago