Drive to Colorado - Passes Around the San Luis Valley 2019 - CycleBlaze

Drive to Colorado

Saturday, May 25, 2019

It took me 3 days to drive from southwest Oregon to southern Colorado. The first day I drove 512 miles to Winnemucca, Nevada via a route I only drove once before, when moving to Oregon in 2005. I saw a lot of snow on Mt. McLoughlin when crossing the Cascade range. I also saw snow on the highest mountains in eastern Oregon and northern Nevada.

Bank across from my Thai lunch stop in Klamath Falls, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the middle of nowhere I took the 4 mile gravel detour to Bog hot spring. I camped there once on a very cold night, but this time I didn't even soak because the main pool was 108F (42C), too hot for me. I got a couple good pictures, though.

Bog hot spring in northwestern Nevada. The pool was 108F (42C), too hot for me.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My room in Winnemucca cost $129 but at least I got a room. The town is filled with thousands of motorcyclists here for the annual Run A Mucca motorcycle rally.

Sunday May 26, 2019

The next day was a long day of driving with no tourist stops. I drove 643 miles to Grand Junction, Colorado to have dinner with Kelly and Jacinto Iniguez. This was a few days before they started a 25 day bike tour in Utah and Arizona.

Wayne, Kelly, and Jacinto selfie after dinner in Grand Junction.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Monday May 27, 2019

Because I drove so far yesterday I don't have to drive super far today. Instead of driving US 50 all the way to Salida I have time to detour onto CO 91 which is north of the Gunnison river.

But first I went into downtown Delta to see the 1928 Egyptian theater that was owned and operated by Kelly's recently departed mother. It's still in business.

Egyptian theater in Delta, Colorado.
Heart 0 Comment 0

CO 91 is a scenic no-traffic road to nowhere on the north side of the Gunnison river. Narrow and winding with an insane amount of climbing. I would like to bike this road someday but would have to camp to do it. Most of the road is just forested mountain climbing but there are a few excellent overlooks.

Gunnison river canyon from CO 91 on the north side of the canyon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Gunnison river flows into the Colorado river at the city of Grand Junction (hence the name). Three huge earthen dams have been built on the Gunnison river. The canyon is thousands of feet deep but the water below is mostly reservoirs, not free-flowing.

Reservoir in the Gunnison river canyon. I think I see the top of a dam on the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gunnison river below Blue Mesa Dam.
Heart 0 Comment 0

CO 91 crosses the top of Blue Mesa dam to return to US 50. US 50 seems like an extremely crowded race track compared to CO 91.

341 foot tall Blue Mesa dam is the uppermost of 3 big dams on the Gunnison river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued east on US 50 over 11,312 foot Monarch pass which has a gift shop and snack bar at the summit. Driving a long distance on busy US 50 has taken away any desire to bike a route that includes a long distance on US 50.

I had a motel reservation in Salida. Over the phone I was told that I could park my car there for 19 days. But when I arrived they said that would be impossible. It's too late to do anything about it today, 5 PM on the Memorial Day holiday.

I walked around downtown Salida quite a bit. It's a thriving tourist town with a large number of historic buildings. Population of 5856 makes it the largest town I will see during this tour.

Downtown Salida, Colorado.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salida, Colorado.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have been hearing breathless news about the Arkansas river flooding the entire state of Oklahoma. Here at 7080 feet elevation the Arkansas river is high but is not flooding.

Looking up the Arkansas river in Salida.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down the Arkansas river from the Salida riverwalk.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the evening I looked up the local Chamber of Commerce, storage places, and RV parks, hopeful that I can find a place to park my car tomorrow.

My 2010 Toyota Prius got 49 miles per gallon during the 1383 mile drive from Oakland, Oregon to Salida, Colorado. The 3-day drive consumed 28.2 gallons of gasoline.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0