Aborted start in Salida: Can't park my car - Passes Around the San Luis Valley 2019 - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2019

Aborted start in Salida: Can't park my car

I got up feeling confident that I would find a place to park my car in Salida. First I went to the nearest self-storage place that advertises vehicle storage. They were full. Same with the other two self-storage places that advertised vehicle storage. RV parks also said they had no space. I even asked at the visitor center, thinking they might have a few visitors here for multi-day hikes. But they had no suggestions. I couldn't find a place to park in Salida for any price.

Kelly Iniguez texted me, suggesting that I call Lorraine at Big Valley Motel in Saguache. That seemed like the best plan B. Lorraine said I could park there for free. Saguache is a small farm town in the wide open spaces of the San Luis valley, a different universe from densely developed Salida.

The tour will start and finish a day later than planned, in Saguache instead of Salida. That's just as well because the weather is unusually cold today, high in the low 50's.

I still had most of the day with nothing to do, so I spent the afternoon naked in hot water at Valley View hot spring. $15 for a day pass. They still have me in their computer from when I camped and soaked there during a bike tour in 2010. That made registration fast and easy. There were episodes of sleet while I was soaking, but little or no rain.

At about 5 PM I left Valley View hot spring to drive 45 minutes to Saguache. On the way out I saw a loaded touring cyclist go into a camp site.

In Saguache I got my reserved $65 room at Big Valley motel. After checking in I walked two blocks to the photogenic downtown strip. Some buildings are vacant but the facades are well maintained.

Downtown Saguache, Colorado.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saguache, Colorado.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saguache. Movie theater on the right.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezThere is also a brand new movie theatre across from the old one. I neglected to find out the details of how that was built, money wise.

Google tells me the old theatre is the Ute and the new one is the Cozy Castle.

It appears both have made it through COVID.

Saguache is one of my favorite towns.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Saguache has well preserved downtown buildings but the town appears to be struggling. The downtown hotel closed many years ago. There are two restaurants and one small motel. The farm and ranch economy is struggling. Few tourists pass through and most don't spend the night.

The hotel has been closed for a long time.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Being the county seat helps keep Saguache alive. Few county seats have a population of only 350.

Saguache population is only 350 but it's a county seat.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The population is predominantly Hispanic. Many are descendants of Spanish settlers. Most people are Catholic.

St. Agnes Catholic Church, built in 1887.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinner was at the Oasis restaurant one block from the motel. The only open restaurant and it closes at 7:30 PM. In very small towns it's important to ask when things open and close.

My car is parked in an out of the way place and my bike is ready to go in the motel room. I'm very well rested after 4 days of mostly driving. Eager to get started but not thrilled about the weather. Tomorrow will be slightly warmer than today but still far cooler than normal.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0