Introduction: Mirages shimmer on distant desert horizons - Down, Down, Down to the Sea - CycleBlaze

Introduction: Mirages shimmer on distant desert horizons

It seemed like it rained in Santa Rosa every day in January. All that wet, chilly weather convinced me to plan a ride somewhere warm and dry.

Meanwhile, February unexpectedly turned into a lovely month for cycling around here, as the pictures below should attest.

In any event, despite the shifting weather pattern and fickleness of El Nino, I stuck with my plan, so here I am, ready to get on the road where the conditions are sure to be hot and arid.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 4
Graham SmithBill I am expecting at least one photo in this journal of you doing a star jump in front of an art installation such as this. :)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Bill StoneTo Graham SmithHi Graham,

Sad to say, last month wildfires swept through here and completely incinerated this place, Paradise Ridge Winery. Not sure if their sculpture garden with this big 'Love' piece survived. I'm hoping they rebuild soon so I can perform jumps here (up to as much as two inches off the ground!) for the amusement of one and all.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Graham SmithTo Bill StoneYes I saw news of those tragic fires Bill. Canberra went through a similar disaster in 2003. It took a decade to recover.
One of the phoenix legacies is a national standard cycling facility.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Bill StoneTo Graham SmithBy the way, in addition to gradually migrating some old CG journals in this direction, I've been working on my own vanity bicycling site in order to tie everything together:

http://stonebooks.com/bike/
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0