Day 5 - Pedwest Border to Rosarito - High Rollers - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2019

Day 5 - Pedwest Border to Rosarito

I wheeled the bike through PedWest which is the newer crossing and through the turnstiles.  Now it was the point no return.  I was rather nervous because last year I had been thrown in jail for a night over a miscommunication with paying a taxi driver and the police wanting a bribe to settle the matter which I refused.  My main fear was that somehow the record in the prison system had made its way to immigration.  But I need not have worried, they just stamped my passport and said "Welcome to Mexico"

The famous arch on Avenue Revolucion
Heart 0 Comment 0
The exact spot last year where I was thrown in the paddywagon
Heart 0 Comment 0

Possibly because of all that I didn't feel like staying in Tijuana again and decided to go over the hill into Rosarito.  It was an excellent decision as it felt so much more chilled out and authentic there.  I found a nice hotel room and booked it for 3 nights at a great deal in low season.

Tijuana sprawling on the hillside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tons of places to rent long term and for great deals
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

This would become home base for awhile as I visited friends in Tijuana and cycled back and forth over the hill frequently.  What I liked most here was the friendly vibe of the locals and the welcome atmosphere.  It was a world apart from what had happened last year

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 490 km (304 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0