Honesty is the best policy: Impetus for this tour - The ride smarter, not harder tour - CycleBlaze

Honesty is the best policy: Impetus for this tour

The smaller truth is that I need to train for  our big tour this year. The larger truth is that over the years there have been a number of mentions that people who travel lightly loaded aren't really touring. As someone who has made a diligent effort to lose body weight and gear weight, I take exception to the opinion. The major reason I am riding this tour is so I can use the journal title. Quite a reason, eh?

If I'm willing to wear the same clothes every day in order to carry less weight, does that make me any less of a cycle tourist than someone with a change of clothes for every day? If, by carrying less weight, I am able to ride thousands of feet of elevation gain in the mountains, does that make me more of a cyclist than the heavily loaded person who chooses to take the easier river road in compensation of their weight? Ah, ha! Turned the tables on that one, didn't I?

If only a heavily loaded cyclist is a 'real' cycle tourist, then shouldn't we all try to gain weight and look like my photo on the right? I assure you, it's much more work to climb passes at 250 pounds than it is at 180 pounds.

I find cycling more enjoyable as the cyclist on the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Let's move on to a more positive note. I enjoy climbing (I do live in Colorado). I like to arrive in town in good enough condition to walk upright and not just stagger to the nearest chair in fatigue. Carrying less weight makes the daily ride more pleasurable.

Our big trip this year is a real doozie in elevation gain. The mileage is respectable, but, the climbing is the attraction. I suspect I haven't been doing enough climbing this spring. My past few rides in April have included as much as 3,300 feet of climbing per day. That is good, but isn't quite good enough. I have an opportunity for a long weekend tour. I tried to come up with the most climbing that is close to home and within my time frame. The route I came up with includes climbing Grand Mesa at 10,000 feet in early May! Fresh snow is forecast on Wednesday before my Thursday departure. But I'm sure the road will be clean by the time I arrive. Certainly, I'm bringing my cold weather gear. I expect this tour to up my preparedness for the big tour.

Here is my light weight touring set up. The bike is a 2017 Lightning P-38 ROX. My goal is to carry less than ten pounds in gear, not counting food/water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0