Training: Getting there part 2 - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2014

Training: Getting there part 2

What is with people? Amtrak has community seating in the dining car so you never know who you are going go get, seating companion wise. And actually, for the four meals I ate on the train from LA to Newton Kansas, I had pretty good companions. They could hold a decent conversation and were even interesting at times.

Still, why is it that often, when you mention that you are a cyclists, people first reaction is," that is so dangerous," and then proceed to tell me about all the people who they have ever heard that were hit by a car on a bike. And usually, much of it is hearsay, and maybe 1 or 2 in the past 10 years, that they go on and on about.

It always crosses my mind to say, "you know yesterday there were probably over 100 people killed in car accidents," but I don't.

It would be like someone telling me they were just diagnosed with cancer, and I go on and on about the high probability of them surviving the next 2 years.

People. I swear...

But other than that, the train ride was uneventful and even quite pleasant. Though i arrived in Newton Kansas at 3:00am. So I dragged the boxed Trucker into the station to start the assembly process, only to find 2 other cyclists in the station doing the same thing. So we put everything together and then did the logical thing, went to sleep in the station till daylight.

We arrived in Albuquerque an hour early so I did a little walkabout near the station.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Community gardens near the station
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Las vegas, New Mexico. Where the old meets the new.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Trucker and all my crap in the Newton train station
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is Don and Mary, the two I met at the Newton station at 3am
(Look on the left, the ones sleeping :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0