Day 28: Panguitch to Beaver - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2014

Day 28: Panguitch to Beaver

Okay, so it rained today. So what!?

Except I told Leo it likely won't rain much from here on out, so I'm sure I'll never hear the end of it.

We got a late start because of my prescription, which I told you I needed to get, but couldn't until this morning because of everything being closed and all...

So we were climbing up a big damn climb between Panguitch and Beaver when all hell started breaking loose, rain wise. We just got to the top when the rain and lightning started. So we raced down the hill, me faster than Leo, and by the time we got to the bottom the rain was mostly gone. So we turned north on Highway 15, which we had to ride (on the shoulder of course) about 15 miles to Beaver.

Which wouldn't have been a problem except about halfway there all hell broke loose again. Rain came pelting down, and then came the wind. We could barely stay upright and keep pedaling and we were getting soaked to the skin, even with our rain jackets.

"What should we do?" I said, look around at the scub and sagebrush, which offered no cover at all.

"Keep going," Leo said.

So we kept going. And it got worse. And then it really got worse, and rain came thundering down, and the wind picked up, again.

"What should we do?" I said. "should we try and hitch a ride?"

"Yes, I think so."

So that's what we did, or at least that's what we tried to do. One car stopped but they couldn't take us and our bikes. But no one else stopped.

And who can blame them? We must have been quite a sight? And two drenched touring cyclists wouldn't be good for any vehicle. So after about 10 minutes of trying we shrugged our shoulders and soldiered on. We must have looked pathetic and I'm sure we got a lot of sympathy from the people in cars, all dry and warm as they raced by. I raced ahead to try and keep warm but Leo soon caught up.

After about 30 minutes the rain slowed a bit. Then a bit more. By the time we got to Beaver it had more or less stopped, but I was still feeling like a wet dog, and probably smelled like one, and I was cold. Leo was less bothered, being from England and all.

"I'm glad it won't rain west of Cortez," he reminded me.

"Grrrrr"

In the end we found a great KOA and after a hot shower and some dinner I was right as rain, er sunshine, again.

Things could be worse. This is, after all a bike trip. And if I said it once I've said it a thousand times, you never know WHAT will happen on a bike trip.

Tomorrow we head into The Big Empty west of Milford. Until then...

Cows. Git a'long little dowgie...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leo on the crest of the big climb, just before all hell broke loose
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 1,511 miles (2,432 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0