Day 16: Durango or Bust - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2014

Day 16: Durango or Bust

"People who travel by car drive to a place, get out of the car, and see that place. People who travel by bike see all the places in between."

Leo said that sometime in the last couple of days, and today I was reminded of the truth of it. When I origonally planned this route I thought it would be cool to see Durango, and maybe ride on the steam train. I heard Pagosa Springs is a cool town and it would be nice to look around.

But then the pedaling gets going and the time comes and often you dont even do what you had set out to do. Maybe its because when you plan you have a "car traveler" mentality, and forget that the destinations are often beside the point, that its the journey, the places in between the destinations that make the trip worth traveling.

Or, I suppose, it is partly weariness. When you travel by car and arrive at your destination you can't wait to get out to stretch your legs and get some exersise. On a bike, destinations are often a place to search for lattes, pies and air conditioning. Depending onthe milagr for the day, exercise is sometimes the last thing you want.

But either way, we stopped in Durango, saw the steam train at the station, with all of the car travellers sitting on the train, waiting to go, and that seemed enough. All we could think of after that was breakfast and large quantities of coffee. Then it was on to Dolores, which is near Cortez, to some friends of Leo.

I may come back this way to see all the things I have "missed." The town of Pagosa Springs. A train ride from Durago to Silverton, and back. But until then, I am delighted with all the things I am "missing"--i.e. the things I am seeing "in between."

Steam engine in Durango
Heart 1 Comment 0
Durango
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the places "in between"
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wish I could go back in time for a day. Wouldnt it be interesting to see what it was like on this spot back then!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 1,133 miles (1,823 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0