Day 10: A Prison Tradition - Ride And Seek - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2014

Day 10: A Prison Tradition

Man, Kansas and Colorado have a lot of prisons! But enough of that.

Leo was back on his feet today, or at least on his wheels, and in the end we decided that the bike shop guy was right about the route overall. It was really nice! Sure, there was a little traffic and in some places the shoulder narrowed, but compared to some of the places we have been riding over the past week, the ride along the Arkansas River from Canon City to Salida was The Bomb! Get it. The Bomb...Canon City...? HA!

...anyway, there was an 8-mile climb out of town but it was gradual and pretty. From there we spent the day winding past the river on short ups and downs. Winds were tolerable, drink stops where fairly frequent, whats not to like!?

About 8-miles from Salida we rolled into what I thought was a beautiful campsite by the river, but Leo looked horrified.

"The tent pad is gravel!" He said. Which I always find to be great but his tent is not freestanding so he grumbled a bit at first. But I showed him how we do it in America, The Land of The Free and Home Of The brave...

"Just dig down a couple of inches and you get hard dirt." Which he did and his tent was fine.

Our only campsite neighbor was a couple from California, based on their license plates.

"You must know them," Leo joked.

But when I walked by I said hello I and discovered they live in Willits, about an hour from me. Well, one thing led to another and the next thing you know George offered us a beer and Debbie produced some cheese/sausage and crackers and we sat around chatting and having a good 'ol time.

It was a great day and a great evening.

"I guess this wasn't such a bad campsite then?" I asked Leo.

"No. It was really quite nice after all."

Kansas and Colorado sure have a lot of prisions. Im sure they help support the local economy. I would rather see more money put into schools.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A minute after I took this picture Leo took one, only to be reprimanded by the guards for taking pictures of the prison. I guess he thought were going to plan a prison break? I don't think The Trucker would be a very good getaway vehicle, do you?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Having fun on the Arkansas River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pretty scenes today
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sorry about that big blotch in the middle of the picture. I didn't notice it till later. I cleaned the lens and I think it's okay now.
Heart 0 Comment 0
George and Debbie from the California. It was great meeting you!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leo got used to the gravel. Looks like a good site to me. Right on the river!
Heart 0 Comment 0
In Canon City
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 666 miles (1,072 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0