Pre-departure testing checklist - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

November 5, 2021 to June 10, 2022

Pre-departure testing checklist

Things to do, check, or test before hitting the road

THESE ARE ITEMS OR ASPECTS of things I want to test, insofar as I can, as I prepare for the trip.  Better to get information early, while there's time to change the plan or make adjustments and where I have full access to my workshop and tools, than to get stuck with an unworkable solution while on the road and have to improvise something.

Ultimately the "Still To Test" and "Modifications and Retest Required" subheadings should be empty, and everything should have drained into the "Tested and Ready To Go" category.  I'll periodically update the list as I complete testing, or if I think of something new to be tested.

As of: 10 June

I'm pretty much done with the test-and-evaluate phase.  I am where I am, have what I have.  Any further changes or adjustments will be made on the road.  The Still to Test and Mods Needed items will happen in the next week as I prepare to travel, or won't happen at all.

Still To Test

* Tent seam sealing  [6/10 this is OBE, or at least I hope it is, with the replacement of the tent]
* Getting everything disassembled and packed for air travel
* On-the-bike tool selection - needs finalization during bike disassembly.  Ensure that all tools required for bike assembly/disassembly are included.  Separate tools that will be used then sent home from tools that will make the ride.

Modifications and/or Retest Required

* Specific clothing selections- final review and weed-out needed

Tested and Ready To Go

* Tyvek tent footprint [6/10: needs to be made for the new tent, unless the one for the original tent happens to fit- which I doubt]
* Pannier capacity
* Pannier organization (subject, of course, to later re-thinking as experience takes hold)
* Camp cookware selection
* Loading arrangement
* Handlebar accessory mount and organization
* Travel CPAP device and mask
* Travel CPAP battery capacity (run time before recharge is required)  [4/16/2022: Looks like one night per battery is all they can manage, but there's a reasonable reserve in the morning.  If daisy-chained, might get three nights out of the two, BUT the recharge time is very long (several hours each) so I'll have to monitor the state-of-charge closely.  Might be worth investing in a second power supply and charging cable to charge them simultaneously rather than in sequence.]
* Choice of riding footwear (decision: regular bike shoes won out over biking sandals, so I'll need to bring separate footwear for off the bike use)
* Image transfer from camera to tablet computer or phone
* Taillight mount
* Headlight mount
* Water filtration device (tested that it operates; not tested for effectiveness)  [6/10  Used the filter on my final two-day/one-night campout; unfiltered water was definitely cloudy out of the spigot, nice and clear after filtration.  Good to go.]
* Confirm use of Garmin to follow RWGPS-defined route
* Use of gasoline in lieu of purpose-made camp stove fuel.  [4/16/2022 PASS.   A bit sooty on initial lighting but once the stove is warmed up it works just fine although there is a detectable odor of gas near the stove.]
* Repaired Therm-A-Rest sleeping pad.  [4/16/22: used it for a week on FL Bike Safari; never even had to top it up.  Good to go.]   [6/10: As a weight and space saving measure I've elected to revert to carrying and using one of my 1/2" pads rather than the thicker and marginally heavier 3/4" model previously tested.]
* Confirm runtime-without-recharge of Garmin  [4/16/2022  Used daily on Bike FL.  Will be fine if recharged each day.]
* Camp cuisine: menus, prep techniques, requirements  [6/10  I've done what's going to get done in this regard.]
* Using the selfie-stick with my phone camera  [6/10  I've done what's going to get done in this regard.]  
* Using the selfie-stick as a tripod for the point-and-shoot camera  [6/10  Done and dusted.]
* Taking time-delay and/or sequential images with the point-and-shoot camera to capture riding images  [6/10  Done and dusted]

Tested and Abandoned / Canceled / Not Doing

* Neck gaiter as sunburn prevention  [4/16/2022  FAIL.  Tried on FL Bike Safari and it felt as though I were being slowly strangled.  I just don't like anything snug against my neck or windpipe.]
* Tyvek "tarp" as tent drape-over for extra rain protection.  UPDATE 3/14: After an entire weekend in the rain and snow, and with the Tyvek draped over the tent, the interior of the tent was completely dry.  [6/10: Although the drape-over worked to keep things dry, and might have proven beneficial for other uses,  I've elected not to carry it after all, as a weight-and-space savings measure.  Also, since I've replaced the tent I initially planned to carry with a slightly smaller, much lighter model, my concern over leaks are somewhat abated and therefore the tarp seems less necessary.]
* Confirm methodology for downloading RWGPS routes to Garmin - tested on PC but not on tablet.  4/27: RWGPS as a mobile app does not seem to support generating downloadable files. For that and various other reasons, I am reconsidering whether to bring the tablet so this may become moot in the end.  [6/10  The tablet isn't going.  I'll rely on my phone to navigate RWGPS routes and carry the Garmin as redundant backup.  I'll download and install all the routes as they exist now onto the Garmin, but real-time updates or deviations won't get transferred.]
* Solar panel as power source for recharging items (phone, Garmin) while riding to prolong usable runtime.  4/27: This is on the bubble.  On my two day overnight camping trip I had my phone connected to the panel while I rode.  It may have helped but didn't seem of such great benefit as to be worth the effort and weight.  I can use either a wall wart to charge devices when electric power is available, or one of my CPAP batteries when it isn't.  So, I am leaning toward leaving the panel at home.  [6/10: "leaning toward" has morphed into and solidified as "leaving the panel at home.]

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0