Ageism - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2021

Ageism

In which I find myself both accuser and accused

I COULD HEAR the “plock… pak… plock” of the pickleball players even before I could see the tennis court on which they were playing.  Twice today my ride carried me past local tennis courts in city parks, where a dozen or more people were whacking a plastic ball with wooden paddles.  It’s evident that pickleball is, at the very least, a momentarily popular pastime.

It’s my perception, most likely wildly inaccurate, that the game was invented to help near-geriatrics stay active and therefore healthier by promoting movement, hand-eye coordination, and some level of mild exertion.  It’s well documented that becoming or remaining sedentary as one ages is a significant factor in many age-related health problems, and that moderate activity on a regular basis is a key strategy for combating the insidious effects of prolonged inertia.

Yet I resist taking it up.  To do so would be, in my malinformed mind, at least a tacit acknowledgement of my advancing years.  It’s an “old person’s game” and I don’t want to be seen as an “old person”, either by others or in my mind’s eye.  This is despite all objective evidence to the contrary, you understand.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensHi Keith,
I hear you...not sure what your age is but if any consolation/encouragement I turned 71 on last year ride across country and we are headed to do the Great Divide in a few weeks.
Remember, it's not a race...and we've taken rides on buses, trains, pickup trucks when necessary. We define ourselves as travelers, predominately by bike, but it is only one means of transportation.
Rachel
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Rachel and Patrick HugensHi-

I'm 60, but unlike yourselves I allowed myself to get seriously out of shape and sedentary after turning 50. Now I'm working my way back, and much of my overwinter angst about fitness has begun to subside as I've worked on losing weight and adding miles to my legs.

There's no such thing as "cheating": if the situation warrants it and an opportunity for a lift presents itself I'll gladly accept. And, I think I may have mentioned somewhere: if somewhere along the way it stops being enjoyable and doesn't look to change (I'm prepared for a day of misery here and there but if I start waking up day after day feeling like I'm on a death march) I won't hesitate to pull the plug.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago