0723 - An ordinary day as a bicycle hobo - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2022

0723 - An ordinary day as a bicycle hobo

Nothing especially memorable to report

DESPITE HAVING A FAIRLY LONG DAY ahead of me I wasn't in a hurry to get started.  For one thing, the temperature at 0500 was 39 degrees.  For another, I wanted to spend a little more time with Steven and Jodi before we went our separate ways.

Finally tearing myself away at 0920 (!) I headed for Dillon, the day's destination.  Yesterday's fire smoke had dissipated overnight so the sky was once again clear and deep blue over the mountains on either side of me.

Leaving Wisdom. This is the first of these signs I remember having seen on this trip, though I know there are several in Virginia. [8/3/2022 Ironically, I've recently noticed while laundering it that the orange Bike Virginia jersey I've been wearing, and which I've had since 2011 without apparently ever really looking at it closely, has a copy of the sign on it as well.]
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mountains to the left of me.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Different mountains to the right. I think these are the Tobacco Root mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is where Montana posts all of its secret history. I forgot my decoder ring so I couldn't make it out.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Eighteen miles down the road I passed through Jackson, which at a population of 38 souls is even tinier than Wisdom (population 119) but which boasts both an RV park and a separate cyclist-only camping area right "downtown".

How great is this?!
Heart 2 Comment 0
And here's a triumphal gateway to go with it.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Self-portrait in the doorway glass.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Next up was the Big Hole Pass (elevation 7,360 according to the ACA maps but 7,400 feet according to the summit sign, so 120 or more feet higher than yesterday's Chief Joseph Pass but not as long a climb).  It was interesting too because it's nearly a straight shot (you can see the summit from a long way away, and there are no switchbacks and only one turn) where all of the other passes I've crossed so far are hidden behind numerous twists and turns, in narrower deeper canyons for the most part.  I'm not sure which I prefer: being able to see the top "waaaaay up there" or having it remain invisible and elusive until nearly the moment I'm on it.

On my way up, this father/daughter duo from the Netherlands had already done their work and were enjoying the fruits of their labor.
Heart 3 Comment 0
You can see clearly the entire climb from here; the summit is just behind the hilltop just to the right of center frame.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gotcha, you bugger!
Heart 1 Comment 0

After Big Hole, the next pass was Badger at a mere 6,760.  Thanks to my late start I would be on it pretty much most of the afternoon.  There are very few places in this stretch to refill water containers, so although I was not yet out I was quite conscious that I was running lower than I felt comfortable about.

At some point MT 278 crosses Buffalo Creek.  I considered trying to collect and filter some of the water, but access was tricky: there were fences and Private Property/No Trespassing signs blocking all access except from the highway bridge itself.  I could have tied a line around one of my bottles and lowered it into the creek from the bridge, thereby not violating private property rights, but the idea didn't appeal to me.

Instead I rode a couple more miles to the turnoff for Bannack State Park, thinking I might get a fill there.  But before I had to go out of my way I was able to flag down a motorist coming from the park; they were glad to share their extra water with me.  Problem solved. 

My anonymous benefactress.
Heart 1 Comment 0
She saved me a lengthy detour.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was 19 uneventful, unremarkable miles downhill from the summit of Badger Pass into Dillon.  Once in town I began the hunt for a motel and eventually landed at the Best Western.  It was on the pricey side but clean, modern, and most important of all available.

An excellent motto and philosophy.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A ranch gate outside Dillon. The mailbox above the bears is labeled "Air Mail". An old joke, but a good'un.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mama Bear, Papa Bear, and Baby Bear, presumably.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The university in town has a handsome campus building.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire inflation problem: 4

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 901 miles (1,450 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AdamsA few of your photos certainly show why Montana calls itself "Big Sky" country.
Regarding the huge flies on your previous day: if that happens again, consider harnessing them alive and using them for towing assistance!
Glad you found water when running low!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago