Day Six: Rest Day in Paragould, Arkansas - "Two Days, Two Weeks, or Two Months" - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2023

Day Six: Rest Day in Paragould, Arkansas

The predicted thunderstorms did, in fact, happen. I was glad to be inside instead of out on the bike.

Late in the afternoon, tornado signs began going off. I walked outside the hotel to look at the sky, and while it looked like a bad storm was coming, it didn't look that terrible.

But when I walked back inside the hotel, I found a hotel employee knocking on the doors of all the rooms and advising the occupants to come to the hotel's "safe room."

I ignored this, and went back to my room. I was feeling the "Sunday Blues", combined with the lethargy and boredom that I often feel on a rest day on a bicycle tour - especially when the day is spent in a boring, soulless chain motel like this Holiday Inn Express on the edge of a busy highway.

I decided that I needed to do a super-long day tomorrow, and get deeper into Arkansas, before probably ending this tour soon. There were just too many unsettled work things I needed to address, and I hadn't accomplished much on my to-do list today - I'd spent the day mostly lying on the bed and eating.

I worked out a 100+ mile route to the small town of Melbourne, and secured an economical room at a bed and breakfast there, and went to bed early after setting my alarm for 4:00.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0