Ruta Carrilet to Girona - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2016

Ruta Carrilet to Girona

The breakfast this morning was very good. There was even a bottle of Cava, should you want to spike your orange juice with sparking wine. I didn't. Not at breakfast.

I packed up and headed out to walk the Cami de Rondo, a path from the port next to the Platja Sant Feliu around the headland to Platja Sant Pol. I'd seen this last night but it was too late to start after dinner since the sign suggested allowing just over an hour.

Information about the Ruta del Carrilet
Heart 0 Comment 0
These look like morning glory flowers but in a bold blue colour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The port of Sant Feliu de Guixols.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There must be some phenomenal storm waves. Even the breakwater is protected. There appears to be a floating breakwater outside (not sure if that's what the concrete floats are) but even the little opening between the rocks is blocked with riprap.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Cami de Rondo also provides access to some rock-climbing pitches.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Parts of the Cami are like a hiking trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Cami de Rondo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Other parts of the Cami are more civilized.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to include a bougainvillea photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was hot already and I decided I absolutely could not leave the Mediterranean coast without having gone for a swim. Up to the hotel to don my suit and get a towel. Once in the refreshing water I regretted booking a B&B in Girona for tonight, but I can only swim for so long and sitting in the sun holds no appeal for me when it's this hot.

I loaded up my bike and joined the Ruta Carillet which passes just in front of the hotel. A pleasant ride to Girona on the usual rail trail. It's well marked, except for one Y where I (of course) picked the wrong way. I didn't go very far before realizing that I'd guessed wrong.

Seen from the Ruta deal Carrilet
Heart 1 Comment 0

After finding the B&B, checking in and showering, I set off to eat and explore. I was very hungry so ordered a full meal. I left food on my plate again, but that was around 3 and it's after 10 now, and I'm still full! I guess I need to increase my mileage.

The Girona Cathedral is approached by a most imposing stairway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gargoyle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Panorama of Girona from the city wall. There's a storm in the mountains with thunder and lightning but it didn't reach Girona.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This house stood out because of its unique colour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riverside houses, Girona.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Eiffel bridge, Girona.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Distance 41 km; ascent 226 m; descent 187 m

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 86 km (53 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0