Introduction - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

Introduction

The general idea

In just a few weeks I will be departing for my first big solo cycling trip. I've done short solo tours locally and might do one more before I leave but I've never done something like this on my own. I was always too nervous. Now I wonder why? I'm reasonably competent riding and maintaining or fixing my bike, I've travelled alone before...why not on a bike?

My husband's road riding group does a Europe trip every two years, with the previous ones we know about all being in the Alps. He's never been on one of these (though he cycled the Alps fully loaded in the mid-80s) and he really wanted to go this year: light carbon bike, fully supported, a dream trip. All men, all pushing hard. So I decided I'd do my own thing.

My original plan was to do a diagonal trip across France but then the boys decided to transit the Pyrenees, 10 days from Biarritz to Girona in September 2017. I've long wanted to ride the Pyrenees too so why not do it the same year Al goes with the guys? Decision made.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0