Mirepoix to Foix - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2016

Mirepoix to Foix

Moving rest day

A very pleasant ride today! Almost no traffic, enjoyable scenery, and though it was drizzling, it was cool. Since it's Saturday, there were roadies out in singles and groups, and all waved or said bonjour. Not a lot of climbing either, so maybe I'll count this as my rest day.

I followed little D roads again: D13 to just past Roussinergue, then D 12 through Dun to Lieurac, where I turned onto the D 1 and followed it all the way to Foix.

Yet another hilltop ruin in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunflowers! I passed many field that I thought might be sunflowers, but this is the first I've seen in bloom. Sunnier exposure, I guess.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love sunflowers! Not as much as wild roses, though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
For my sister (Carol, of course)
Heart 0 Comment 0
All sorts of route-finding information, including an old milestone. Gc 1 is now D 1.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old milestone--or is at a kilometre-stone? The distances are in kilometres.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Château de Foix dominates the town. It is now a museum.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the Office de Turisme I picked up a brochure on lodging and in it was one (and only one) listing for a chambre d'hôte in the centre ville. I couldn't believe my luck! It was available for tonight and tomorrow night and it's great!

My lovely chambre. There's a very modern private shower etc. behind the wall at the head of the bed. I should have taken a picture of the garden too. I only used it to lock up my bike since it was too hot to sit in the sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Picnic lunch in the park and a visit to the Château de Foix. The Château is well worth seeing.

Foix
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foix
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foix
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foix
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stayed and spent my time in the centre historique
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Château
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gaston Fébus, Prince of the Pyrenees, was a former lord of Château Foix. He was passionate about hunting and wrote a book on the subject in the 1380s. This illustrated book (I don't think Gaston did the illustrations) is reproduced in digital format in the Tour Ronde of the Château and I had to photograph a couple of my favourite pages. This is from the section on caring for hunting dogs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this is the lord giving instructions to his dog handlers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The oldest tower, la Tour de l'Arget, is not open to visit. It would be a little awkward since it has no openings at ground level. The ground level was reached by an interior stair. How its occupants entered wasn't clear, but I think they used a ladder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The middle tower, Tour du Milieu.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the Tour du Milieu is a display of weapons and armour. Imagine trying to move around wearing something like this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Or doing anything with this on your head.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Presumably one wore flexible leather gloves under these.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Other styles of helmets
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another creatively-named structure, Tour Ronde
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tour Ronde
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down at the courtyard from the top of Tour du Milieu. Defenders would not even have to lift their tubs of boiling oil to dump them on attackers. Of course, they would have to be very careful where they stepped!
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Henri IV's bed, a key item of furniture to be presented to the Château de Foix, is of prime importance to the historical and artistic heritage of Ariège" according to the museum information pamphlet. Apparently the bed was commissioned by a lord who expected a visit from his king. It wasn't clear to me whether Henri IV ever actually used it. However, the museum has gone to great lengths to restore it as it would have been and it's very well done.
Heart 0 Comment 0

43 km; ascent 376 m; descent 298 m

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 630 km (391 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0