Luz-St-Sauveur to Argeles-Gazost: Another moving rest day - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2016

Luz-St-Sauveur to Argeles-Gazost: Another moving rest day

After yesterday I figured I needed a day off before Col d'Aubisque so decided to take it easy and just ride the 20 or so kilometres to Argelès-Gazost, the usual starting point, as far as I can tell. I went to the little café at the youth hostel for breakfast; they had the news on and last night's attack in Nice was the story. My heart went out to those affected, while just enjoying their national day.

I dawdled about the campsite, waiting for my tent to dry once the sun had reached the area. Then off to have a quick look around and ride through the Gorge de Luz towards Argelès-Gazost. Just after Soulom, at the end of the gorge, is the south end of a Voie Verte that goes to Lourdes. It's paved and quite pleasant, especially after the fairly busy D 921 through the gorge. All the roadies were using it.

Inside the Eglise des Templiers
Heart 0 Comment 0
A stand-alone pipe organ! (Sorry for the blurry photo)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The doorway is part of the original 11th century structure
Heart 0 Comment 0
Information about the church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the fortification. The stones between the the outer wall and the path mark graves. The inscriptions are mostly worn away.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Hotel Les Templiers is across the street. It might be an interesting place to stay. From the hotel website: "We chose not to put television into rooms in order to preserve this old house’s ambient calm." And here I was just attracted to the building!
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of the church from the hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
The office de tourisme in Luz. The Tour de France came through on July 9, on its way to the Col du Tourmalet and Hourquette d'Ancizan.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back up the Gorge de Luz.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the middle of a roundabout at the north end of Soulom...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not as good an exposure but I wanted to show the sidecar
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Voie Verte
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can't help but wonder why one side of the mountain is forest and the other is not. Centuries of grazing?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Argelès-Gazost is on the side of a hill. There is bike parking at the bottom, both near a set of stairs and also near an elevator (!) that leads to the tourist office, but I rode around since I didn't want to leave my bike. With the assistance of the tourist office, I found a chambre d'hôte just off the route to Col d'Aubisque. No wet-tent-packing tomorrow, but it looks like I won't get much of a warm-up either, unless the road flattens out a bit once it gets out of town. We will see.

My chambre d'hôte. Very pleasant!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from my room, looking down on Argèles-Gazost
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the meantime I've done a load of laundry at the laverie (3.80€, cheapest I've seen) and hung it out on my host's clothesline. It's well-placed in the sun so everything should be good to go tomorrow.

I found a nice restaurant in the town, one not listed in the tourist office's guide. Dinner was excellent and should do me well tomorrow, I hope.

First course. I wonder why I only seem to take pictures of salads? I know the answer--it's in hope of being inspired to recreate them at home.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Distance 22 km; ascent 120 m; descent 362 m

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 km (14 miles)
Total: 977 km (607 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0