Day 6 - Rest and market day - Provence Again 🇫🇷 - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2019

Day 6 - Rest and market day

Today was a well deserved rest day.  It started with a good nights sleep and not having to get up so early to access the bad wifi to post my blog.  I pirated some wifi from another location and managed to load the blog yesterday afternoon.  After breakfast we went to the local market that is huge, and takes up the whole town.  There is everything from food to clothes and shoes to soap and toys.  I specifically went looking for the woman whose soap is made from donkey milk.  I had purchased some 2 years ago and I really like it so I wanted more.  She was in exactly the same location as last time.  I also purchased some olive oil, an olive wood spoon/spatula, an herb grinder and some wash cloths.  It’s fruit season here so I bought some local cherries and 2 melons from Cavaillon.   

The big purchase, not at the market, was a signed and numbered print from a local artist who has his own gallery.  Last time I almost bought one so this time I did.

 Since we had a car a group of us decided to go to the medieval town of  Séguret for a late lunch as a change of pace.  The food at Le Mesclun was just as good this time as last but unfortunately due to the rain we had to eat inside instead of on the terrace.

In the market they have these huge radishes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This staircase in the main part of the hotel dates back to the 1500s. The current proprietor of the property was born in one of the upstairs rooms.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My soap lady where I buy my donkey milk soap.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The soap.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You can buy a full roasted chicken dinner at the market.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The famous Cavillon melons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My beautiful melons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cherry location where I bought my 🍒.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just one of many fruit and vegetable stands.
Heart 0 Comment 0
How about some local sausage, some even made with bull meat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the print that I bought.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All of retail therapy. Washing mitts, soap, an olive wood spoon/spatula, black olive oil, an herb de Provence mill, and a post card of my print.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The gallery where I bought my print.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today’s lunch menu.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hilary’s entrée (appetizer).
Heart 0 Comment 0
The knife with the restaurant and chef’s name.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gail’s fish (sea bass we think) lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My apple dessert.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A stone in the town pavement.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Christopher waxing poetic near the old town well, l’eau de vie (the water of life).
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0