Day 4 - Nyons - Provence Again 🇫🇷 - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2019

Day 4 - Nyons

The map for today. We only rode the loop on the top right of the map and then came straight back to Vaison-la-Romaine because we had delicious but large picnic lunch in Nyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately we had a thunderstorm last night with some light rain continuing into the morning.  We said that we were not going to ride in the rain because we did not bring any gear but the rain was so light and there was a special picnic lunch scheduled for Nyon that we decided to ride.  I am glad we did because although the roads were a little wet (my bike got dirty) we only had a few more sprinkles.  The ride totalled 55km with 2100ft but there was one good long climb with a very steep section at the top.  The downside of the climb was a lovely long descent on which most people just gently coasted down, not me.  I have my own bike with the right tires for the wet and I know the road so I let it go, another Yahoo!  After lunch we opted for the short way home so we could hit the laundromat.  We are scheduled for Mt Ventoux tomorrow but the weather is very iffy so I suspect it will be postponed until Wednesday because the big market day is Tuesday.

The poppies are past and the lavender is not quite in bloom so this photo may have to suffice for my flower photo, me with a blooming olive tree.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Christopher cruising along.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top of the big climb for the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gail coming across the bridge after the lovely long descent.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Us on the other side with the castle almost coming out of our heads
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our amazing picnic lunch in a park in Nyons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As we walked back from doing our laundry we came across a parade in town, this was one of the floats.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 298 km (185 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0