Working out in Brescia - An Italian Spring, 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2023 to June 3, 2023

Working out in Brescia

Before we get too far behind, let’s go back and take credit for the impressive workouts we engaged in during our stay in Brescia.  Rachael went on two long hikes up in the hills to the northwest of the city.  The first one had some navigation issues and fell short of her goal, so she went out again the next day and made it there - 13 miles with 3,000’ of elevation gain, to the summit of Mount Maddalena, the ridge that angles northeast of town behind the castle.  In case I might just think she was exaggerating, she brought back a slideshow and track as evidence: 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Rachael was hardly the only one racking up the miles though, not by a long shot.  I went out for my own ride on the first day of our stay, on a loop southwest of town.  Actually I was interested in biking up to Maddalena myself, on the panoramic Via della Maddelena.  It looks like the natural and best ride from the city, and Rachael saw many bikes up there - but when the time came to depart I didn’t trust my health enough for the steep climb involved and decided to stay in the flats instead.

In retrospect I wish I’d taken a chance with Maddelena, because the loop I planned ended up a complete bust - hands down the worst ride of the tour, or at least the stupidest.  It began well enough, as I followed Brescia’s excellent bike paths for the first few miles until I was out of town.  Then though the path was unexpectedly solidly barricaded, presumably due to some maintenance project.  I had a choice of either riding the busy road I was facing or taking a chance on an unpaved path along a canal that didn’t even register on the Garmin.

I took the canal, which was the wrong decision.  I spent the next hour and a half trying to recover from my error and cross over to the other side of the canal to join my mapped route, but nothing worked out.  Instead I found myself wandering around stochastically in freeway / canal / industrial park hell, as one path after another led to a dead end or a freeway access forbidden to the likes of me.  About the time I was ready to give up and try to just backtrack through this mess the way I had come into it, I finally broke out the other side and connected to the end of my mapped route and followed it back home.  I was surprised to see that after over two hours of aimless meandering I was only four miles from where I started.

Not much of a workout; but still, eighteen miles is eighteen miles.  Might as well take credit for it.

I think I could probably make it across the canal this way, but it didn’t seem worth risking my life or a hefty fine to find out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was excited to finally come across a marked bike route. I didn’t know where it was going to but it seemed promising so I optimistically followed it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It led here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hmm.  Well, that’s not much of a post.  As long as I’ve got the page open I might as well throw in a few more photos from Brescia.  I could caption them, but then I’d never get caught up.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsNice! Though it wouldn't suffer for some TLC and a refresh of the paint job.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith AdamsNevermore!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsAlways trust your cape.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Kirsten KaarsooWow quite the outfits.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Keith AdamsWith Lenore?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsMerely this and nothing more.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonThe lead software tester on my last project used the text of The Raven as one of his standard bits of text when he was testing data input fields for length.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 1,670 miles (2,688 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0