The heat is on: Availles-Limozine to Exideuil - Poitou and the Atlantic Isles - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2016

The heat is on: Availles-Limozine to Exideuil

French weddings are generally on Saturday, so that family and friends can attend. They also are generally followed by two days of partying. Why am I giving you this sociology lesson? Well, the campground where I slept last night was not far from the village salle de fetes, the town social hall. And there was a wedding in town yesterday. I heard the honking as the wedding parade wound through the village as I was eating. And I heard the dance band hired for the party off and on all night. I mostly slept through it, but the bass drumm and the bass guitar periodically penetrated my concious. So, it was not the best night's sleep I've ever had.

Never mind, I was headed south today, and had to find a way past Confolens and its festival. After getting lost on tiny country roads, some not much more than farm tracks, I finally made it to Lesterps,,where I found a delightful cafe just opening for lunch. A nice chat with the chef and his wife who run the place, and I had salad with cooked gizzards, and a steak in Roquefort sauce. I was finished early, so I left on mostly empty roads to get to Chassenon, the ancient Cassinomagus, and it's splendid Roman ruins. The heat was really beginning to build up, but I toured the site, talking with some of the guides who double as demonstrators of Roman technologies such as making mortar, or cutting stone.

After the visit, and refilling water bottles, I left toward the west, looking for the first shelter I could find. There was a campground just a few kilometers down the road, so I got a spot, pitched the tent, showered, and drank large amounts of cold juices and water. I got some laundry done in the machine at the campground and hung it out hoping it would dry quick in the heat. Supper,at the campground, was a salad festooned with different cheeses, and a small pitcher of red wine. The campground was noisy, but I got settled by 11. Unfortunately, the owner and his buddies played loud music til 1AM, waking me. I asked them to turn it down, and they did, but they talked loudly until 2. I just lay in my tent sweating until eventually, they went off to bed.

Random chateau of the day. Discovered while lost, somewhere north of Lesterps.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cafe in Lesterps. Seated about 14.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The ruins of the Roman baths in Chassenon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interior of one of the heated pools in the baths. Most of the stones lining the pool were stolen for other buildings long ago.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The entrance to the space UNDER the pool. A room for heating, filling and draining the pool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A stone lathe used to carve sections of columns.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 464 km (288 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0