Gimme shelter: Exideuil to Angouleme - Poitou and the Atlantic Isles - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2016

Gimme shelter: Exideuil to Angouleme

I was in fairly foul mood this morning. That's not surprising given the little sleep I got last night. I made my breakfast of coffee and cookies, and packed up my things quickly, hitting the road before nine. The day promised to be a repeat of yesterday, that is to say hot, and I am definitely not a hot weather person. So an executive decision was made to stop in Angouleme in the comfort of an air conditioned room. First, though, I had to get there. The morning ride to Rochefoucauld was pleasant enough. Much of the route I took was shaded by plane trees, that wonderful idea of the past century that is slowly succumbing to "progress" as the trees are cut down to widen the highway. Rochefoucauld is a pretty small city, dominated by its chateau. The ride out of town was confusing for me, though. I never seem to have the right scale map with me, so in a maze of small streets and country roads without signs I usually find a way to get lost. I eventually found a route that went in the right direction and was on my way, the heat beginning to build. The way took me through an old military reservation, with barbed wire on both side of the road and défense de entrer signs. From the top of a hill I could see the apartment block towers that mark all French cities of any size. It was mostly a coast downhill into Angouleme from there. At the entrée to the railway station I stopped and bought a bottle of orange drink, which I despatched quickly. It was only two blocks from there to an Ibis Budget hotel, and air conditioning. I booked myself in for two nights, hung up my still damp clothes and flopped onto the bed for a nap. After a couple of hours, I got up and wandered up to the center city. The city hall is the old castle, and in the heat the best place to see it was from an air conditioned fast food joint across the street. A burger and fries and more orange drink, and I was back out in the furnace and down to the hotel. A little journaling, and watching the olympics on the TV and it was dinner time. The nice restaurant across the street from the railway station served me a cold soup of watermelon and cantaloupe garnished with thin slices of radish and julienne of carrots and beets, a grilled fish filet, and a cheese course. Back to my room and bed by nine.

Rochefoucauld's restored chateau.
Heart 0 Comment 0
City hall in Angouleme. It's past as a royal chateau is evident.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 532 km (330 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0