A post script on Heidelberg and the mapping issue - Planned Spontaneity - CycleBlaze

A post script on Heidelberg and the mapping issue

So on the subject of mapping the day's ride:  I am gaining confidence in RWGPS (Ride With GPS) as a mapping tool while at the same time I have developed some guidelines for myself while using it:

  1. I always switch the map to OSM Cycle so that the route finder has access to the best database of street types and existing routes
  2. I also change the color of the track that is created to black or yellow so that it doesn't blend in with the colors of the bike routes
  3. I then use the search function to set my start point and then search for the end point and see what happens when it routes to that point
  4. If the route cuts across country when I want to follow a river, for example, then I drag the route to various points on the general route that I want to take.
  5. But here is the catch:  My new rule of thumb is to trust RWGPS.  If it keeps sending me off of a route that I thought I wanted to follow, there might be a good reason for it.  In other words, don't micro manage the routing process
  6. And finally, try not to go off the route accidentally.  You never know when a railway or freeway or river might keep you from crossing back to the proper route and force you down a miserable path

In the present, our good Grampie friend Steve has sent me several useable tracks for exploring the Rhine as we go south toward Bodensee.  I can load them directly onto my Garmin and I can also look at them using RWGPS and edit them if I want.  Thanks Steve.

It will be interesting to see how they turn out.

Now the second topic:  What we are doing now in Heidelberg

4 years ago we undertook our first big touring trip in Europe that included 2 weeks in Germany on parts of 5 different rivers.  About 4 days into that trip we stayed for 2 nights in Heidelberg with Martin and Julie Glauer and their 4 boys who we first contacted through Warm Showers, (look it up on Google).  We became such good friends and just love their boys so we really are glad that they wanted us to come visit them again.  We are staying here 3 nights and I will blog about it later tonight or tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0