Day 18: Rest Day - Steel City to Cow Town 2014 - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2014

Day 18: Rest Day

Not much to say today. I'm taking a rest day in Monticello, Kentucky because I need the rest.

The town isn't very interesting. I pedaled around the town a bit to look around and go to restaurants. The fanciest place in town is Long John Silver's.

I took a couple of naps and generally tried to avoid exerting myself. Pumped tires, tightened bolts, cleaned the chain.

Can't buy beer in this county. No nice restaurants. No park that I could find (parks are for sinners, you should be at church instead). A typical Bible Belt mill town, with several wood flooring manufacturers.

Downtown has almost no retail stores. Just banks, attorney offices, the courthouse, and sheriff department. All the stores are in low-budget strip shopping centers on the edge of town.

Former theater and quilt shoppe across the street from the Wayne county courthouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I may share the same name as this county, but I wouldn't want to live here.

Monticello cemetery.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't feel welcome in Bible Belt towns. People are suspicious of everything unconventional.

The attitude was summed up well when I left Wendy's after lunch and a woman said "you're not from around here, are you?".

Distance: 7.6 mi. (12 km)

Today's ride: 8 miles (13 km)
Total: 855 miles (1,376 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0