Day 21- Return to Melbourne - Australia Gold Fields, Grampians and Great Ocean Road plus The 7 Peaks - CycleBlaze

November 18, 2019

Day 21- Return to Melbourne

Today was the last official ride where all of the group minus me rode up Mt Buller before we headed to Melbourne.  I don’t regret my decision to skip the ride because my legs are no better this morning and my butt has also had enough saddle time.  I was dropped off in Mansfield where I wandered the town, had a leisurely lunch and generally chilled out.  I was picked up about 2:30 and the whole group returned to Melbourne for our final dinner and farewells.  Thanks to Air Canada I have an extra day in Melbourne which I actually don’t mind because I was not part of the frantic bicycle packing that took place before and after dinner.  I will pack mine at a leisurely pace in the AM.  We had our last group dinner at the hotel before everyone scattered to their home locations.

Some of the buildings in Beechworth a very cute rural town steeped in the gold rush history and the legend of Ned Kelly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Self explanatory
Heart 0 Comment 0
The post office with a monument to the pioneers who founded the town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another quaint building
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Beechworth Bakery is very well known throughout the region. This is the original but they do have 5 satellite shops.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Mike AylingThe chain is well patronised by cyclists!

Mike
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
The pastry counter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Christmas specialities, I considered bringing home a fruit cake but I didn’t want to deal with food beagle at the airport. Séides they were so heavy it make my luggage be overweight.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a dreaded magpie that was swooped me several times. They are about the size of a sea gull so when they smack you in the head you know it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
New dog toys for Murphy and Homer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
While enjoying my day off I had a couple of pints of my new favourite beer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Beth KavanaghFantastic pictures. Looks like a great trip.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago