DAY 5: Bruceport County Park to Warrenton stealth camp (Oregon) - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2018

DAY 5: Bruceport County Park to Warrenton stealth camp (Oregon)

STATS:

Distance: 60.62 miles

Average Speed: 12.6 mph

Time Pedaling: 4:46:48

Maximum speed: 34.3 mph

Expenses: $20 ($13 at the bike shop and $7 for groceries)

Because I covered so much ground yesterday, I intended on making today a shorter day. Alana and I go up around 7 and lingered in camp. As I was just about ready to go, however, I realized something deeply irritating: my rear tire was flat. Again. I found the offending puncture and went to patch it, but none of my patches were adhering. Luckily, Alana was kind enough to lend me her last patch, which did the trick.

We departed later than either of us had anticipated, but the going was still smooth and gorgeous. We meandered along the 101 along sloughs and rivers, and stopped frequently to snack and take it all in.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

We took a long break at Fort Columbia State Park, where we walked around the site of this old military base.

The view was spectacular overlooking the Columbia River bar.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We then proceeded towards the dreaded Astoria bridge. I say dreaded because I've heard of countless cyclists that abhorred having to ride over it. I was initially trepidatious, but it was ultimately an easy, smooth ride across.

Heart 0 Comment 0
See?!? This bridge isn't all that bad.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taken pre-bridge crossing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once in Astoria, Alana and I went to a bike shop so that I could get a new tube and patch kit. We then went to celebrate Alana's last day by going over to a brewery, where I ate my weight in fries. We stocked up on some groceries, and then headed towards the Pacific so that Alana could dip her wheels and end her cross-country journey. It was so exciting to be there for her.

The dipping point.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We shared this beer on the beach as a way of celebrating.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great job Alana!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We traversed some wooded dunes to get to the beach, and I decided to stealth camp there. I had spent more than I was expecting today, and there were ample camping opportunities. While I enjoy the social aspect of campsites, I also wanted to save $8 for tomorrow's site at Cape Lookout. Alana and I parted ways. She's now headed to Portland to continue working with refugees.

Camp for the night. Stealth camping is always a little creepy, so I only do it on occasion.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I write this I am being consumed by mosquitoes. Please pray to the deet gods to protect me through this night!

Gas: passed.

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 348 miles (560 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0