DAY 6: Fort Stevens State Park to Cape Lookout State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2018

DAY 6: Fort Stevens State Park to Cape Lookout State Park

STATS:

Distance: 87.58 miles

Average Speed: 12.6 mph

Time Pedaling: 6:53:35

Maximum speed: 36.2 mph

Expenses: $49 (sigh...a new fast charger was $34, along with $8 for the campsite and $7 at Tillamook

Jeremy, how did you end up at Fort Stevens? I thought you were stealth camping?

Yes, that may be what you're thinking. At about 9:15, just as it was getting all dark and creepy, I decided to pack up and head to Fort Stevens State Park campground. Why? Well I was camping in a heavily wooded area, and had to keep my food in my tent because of raccoons. But there was also the potential of black bears in the area, and I wasn't too keen on waking up to a hungry bear prodding my tent. So I hastily packed up and hightailed it to the campground. I rolled in around 10pm and quickly went to sleep.

In the morning I found that someone had stolen my cell phone charger and spare battery from the restroom. In last night's haste I also lost my gloves and towel, aand broke my glasses. So my day wasn't off to the best start.

After backtracking to a Verizon shop and buying an overpriced charger, I was on my way. Louis and Clark Road is also part of the TransAm, and was one of my favorite stretches of road that I rode

on. Today was no exception. In fact, at one particular moment I simply started to cry; I was simply overcome with emotion. The overwhelming excitement of being young and on such a grand journey; my frustration with the morning's events; sheer awe at the physical beauty of my surroundings; and uncertainty for what lay ahead: it was a great deal to take in at once. But then, as I was slowly creating a hill, I saw a kind note scribbled in chalk on the freshly oiled road: it reas "Enjoy the beauty." And I did.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After descending into Seaside and riding along the promenade, I rejoined the 101 and made my way over several headlands. The fog would whisp past on occasion and chill the air, and at times completely obscured my surroundings. It was almost otherworldly.

The Seaside Promenade
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last third of my day was busier coastal riding, dipping inland along Garibaldi and Tillamook Bays. In Tillamook, I made sure to stop at the creamery, just as I had over two years ago on day two of my TransAm trip. It was an absolute zoo, but I still managed to sample some cheese, purchase a delicious ice cream cone, and snag some smoked cheddar for camp.

A pleasant scene near Tillamook
Heart 0 Comment 0
You can just barely make out the road going off into the fog.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Havin' a whale of a time passin' gas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cheesin' it up outside of Tillamook creamery. Pun quite intended.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Overcast skies darkened my final few miles to Cape Lookout State Park. I The hiker biker sites were almost all occupied, and I spent a considerable amount of time chatting with my neighbor, who completed a westbound TransAm trip only two day ago. I ate lunch in this campsite two years ago, and am so glad I made a point of coming back. It's a magical setting to stay for a night.

Gas: passed

No better place to have a meal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My favorite site so far, even though the bathrooms and electricity were all far from the hiker/biker sites.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 miles (140 km)
Total: 435 miles (700 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0