Off to Sequim - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2019

Off to Sequim

Weather turned cold and cloudy this morning. Some rain in the forecast as well. The highs will not get out of the 60s today. I wanted cooler than the current heat in Florida so I guess this is a place for that! Dressed in layers for the start of this mini-tour over to Victoria. 

I was planning to camp tonight but, instead, found warmshowers host Olivia before heading out and she can accommodate me. Began my ride at the Olympic Discovery Trail (ODT) trailhead near Fat Smitty’s. 

Route for today and tomorrow
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is normal Kim touring.... leisurely, a lot of stops, some photos. And trying to keep up my journal better than I did last summer. 

After about 12 miles I pulled into the library at Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe near Blyn. S'Klallam means the strong people  The tribe is small, with fewer than 1000 members, and they are working to preserve their history. 

First rest break today at about 12 miles
Heart 1 Comment 0
Creek restored by Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, USDA’s Natural Resources Conservation Service and the local community. See https://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detail/wa/newsroom/features/?cid=nrcs144p2_036437
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool
Heart 2 Comment 0
On my way out of Sequim. First time seeing this kind of sign.
Heart 0 Comment 1

I arrived at Olivia’s house on the shoreline of Salish Sea. She is a wonderful host with a lot of positive energy!  Took her to dinner at Salty Girls in Sequim. Didn’t get a photo before she headed off to work 🙁

Less cloudy the next morning
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 67 miles (108 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0