8/16/19 - Bullard Beach SP Humbug Mountain SP - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2019

8/16/19 - Bullard Beach SP Humbug Mountain SP

Today’s ride out towards Bandon was very pleasant. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

After crossing the bridge, I turned onto Riverside Drive. Interesting art made from tree branches. 

Along the roadside
Heart 1 Comment 0
In the yard across the street
Heart 0 Comment 0
Also in the yard. Surfer dude
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cool cyclist
Heart 2 Comment 0

After crossing the bridge and making a right turn onto First Street I eventually came upon the local Farmers Market. Sampled several dips and a couple types of delicious local honey. No room to carry anything like jars of honey. As I was about to get on my bike to leave, I spotted a guy wearing a Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp shirt. His name is Ken and was recently in Georgia so went to a game. He let me take his photo. 

First time I’ve seen anyone wearing a Shrimp shirt. Three thousand miles from home.
Heart 1 Comment 0

A little later I turned down Beach Loop Drive. What a beautiful ride that was. Sunny skies. Nice shoreline scenery. I know, I sound like a broken record. But it has just been fabulous here. 

Near Bandon
Heart 1 Comment 0

After finishing Beach Loop Drive, I pulled into Kimberly’s Book Nook  (had to stop!) at the US 101 intersection. Looked around inside for a few minutes, then Rose pulled up. She had to finish up some things before leaving camp this morning so I had gone ahead. Soon after, she noticed an older man with a flat tire right by us and he was struggling with the jack. We decided to assist him. After introductions, Rose got busy with the tire. I decided to check the spare (donut tire) and it had almost no air. I went to the adjacent RV Park to see if they had a compressor. The park owner said yes, he would bring it out. 

Book stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
New tire needed
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWOW - I'd say so!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Master mechanic
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wes, Rose, and Don
Heart 1 Comment 0

Wes was from Langlois (population 177), our next destination. I had to get to the post office to pick up an amazon order I had shipped in a few days earlier. Originally I had called the Langlois library to see if I could send it to them. She told me they pick up their mail at the post office anyway, so it might be just as well to send there, and gave me the number for Lisa, the postmaster. They were closing at 2:30 but we did have enough time. Also, Wes had recommended The Spoon for lunch. It was on the same street as the post office. Lisa was very nice. I told her about the tire and showed her the photo. Of course she knew Wes. 

This is Lisa, the Langlois Postmaster
Heart 0 Comment 0
“Clocks and Spoons” JP
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lunch stop today
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here to thank the lady who had given me the post office number the other day but she was gone for the day
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch we worked our way towards Humbug SP for tonight. We had a great tailwind today. Stopped at Battle Rock along the way. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Assisted by nature
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crazy gusts today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Battle Rock appears to be know for its winds
Heart 0 Comment 0
At Battle Rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oregon coast
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 692 miles (1,114 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0