Introduction - A Touring Newbie On His First Overnight - CycleBlaze

Introduction

So far on Cycleblaze, I’ve been a bit of a lurker, following lots of journals, commenting occasionally, but not having ever published anything myself.  Guess what? That’s about to change.  I’m actually a relative newbie to the whole cycle touring world.  I’ve done a few bike overnights from home, and done a few trips traveling by car to somewhere, and then doing some hub and spoke day trips from a single location, but no extended travel (yet).

The story that follows is my very first bike overnight, done in the spring of 2017. This was originally published on Adventure Cycling’s bikeovernights.org website, which unfortunately seems to have gone dormant in the last year or two. It wasn't a long trip; only about 70 miles over the two days, but it was enough to get me really excited about the idea of bike travel. For various reasons, I haven't really been able to do any longer trips yet, but I have hopes for something bigger once we're all past the virus crisis. 

The original article was written in a bit of a travelogue style, sort of 'selling' the route, since that seemed to be the general style of writing on bikeovernights.  I'm going to preserve the original words I wrote, which will be in italics, and then add some commentary on the trip based on my (hopefully not too fuzzy) memories. Hope you enjoy it.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0