Runner/Backpacker to Biker - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

March 21, 2022

Runner/Backpacker to Biker

Runner to Biker

I have been a long distance runner for 3 decades, participating in races including two marathons. My doctor has told me for years that at some point I should switch to biking. This fell on deaf ears for a long time since I love to run, especially the camaraderie of my weekend running group. I purchased a good bike when I turned 50 and started using it to commute to work and an occasional weekend ride with my wife. Over the past 5 years I have had my right knee worked on twice for a torn meniscus. This has taken me out of running and put me in the saddle.

Backpacker to Biker

I have camped and backpacked since I was a Boy Scout decades ago and had the idea to tackle one of the long trails (AT or PCT) when I retired. I purchased some new lightweight backpacking gear and headed out on a 3 day trip in November of 2020 covering 16 miles per day in the southern tier of NY state. By the end, my right knee was aching and I was limping a bit. It was then I realized that a through hike of a long trail was not in the cards. If I was going to do a long trip under my own power it would have to be on a bike

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0