Introduction - Nova Scotia and Cape Breton 2003 - CycleBlaze

Introduction

Heart 0 Comment 0

This is my 8th self-contained tour on my short wheelbase Speed Ross recumbent. I decided to do this 15-day trip from August 30 to September 13 so the touristy places wouldn't be very crowded. That is just after Nova Scotia's short summer season so most of the time the weather was a bit too cool for swimming or sunning on beaches. But the weather was still warm enough to enjoy the coastline of 'Canada's Ocean Playground'.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I flew with the bike from Chicago to the Halifax airport and biked to downtown Halifax. After spending most of a day looking around Halifax I pedaled east on the south coast and then north to the Canso Causeway that connects to Cape Breton Island. Then I did a loop on Cape Breton that followed the north shore of the inland sea 'Bras d'Or Lakes', then counterclockwise around the Cape Breton Highlands. Back on the mainland I pedaled along the north coast around Cape George, then inland to the Halifax airport.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0