Numedal - near the end - Fjords and the Midnight Sun - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2009

Numedal - near the end

 Numedal
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm still in Numedal, a scenic valley that boasts Norway's highest concentration of medieval log buildings - around 40 of them. 

I stop at one by the roadside and the owner comes out of his nearby home but can't speak English. I gesture that it's a wonderful wooden building, which dates way back to 1142.

Heart 0 Comment 0

It's just 25km to Kongsberg, where I look around for a while. It's roasting hot - 33 degrees - and the town centre is busy with a music festival in full swing. The local bike shop doesn't have the tyres I want. With my departure looming, I decide to get some poly' sheeting from a builder's merchant - they give it to me - to cover my bike for the flight before catching a train at 3pm to Sandesfyord. This is a 240 krone ride, plus 80-odd for my bike and once there, I stay in a swanky hotel that sets a new record - 1,000 krone.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 1,248 km (775 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0