Brionne to Orbec: Grey mood, sunny mood - Normandy Invasion - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2014

Brionne to Orbec: Grey mood, sunny mood

The weather has really begun to effect me. It's not that I don't like rain, it's that it seems to color everything that happens. Cars that pass seem to be more aggressive, people are less friendly, dogs bark more. This morning, the skies were relentlessly grey, and there was some slight drizzle every now and then. Normally, I stop to take photos of old castles and abbeys and such, but this morning, I couldn't be bothered. "Won't make a good picture" I said to myself and I just kept my head down and pedaled. I left Brionne about 9:15, and followed the path of the railway to Beaumont le Roger, where I got a cup of coffee. Continuing along the rail line, I got to Conches en Ouche just as mass was letting out. Today was market day and the non-religious were lined up to buy fresh produce and baked goods. I got a couple of pre-packed sandwiches and some yellow plums which I took to the railway station to eat. Conches is a minor stop, and the platform was very quiet. No trains passed while I was there, so I had a very calm lunch. I left Conches and headed west to Orbec, where I fetched up about 3:30. The sun had made its appearance, and I was feeling much better. The campground is really nice, with well manicured lawns and clean facilities. I did a load of laundry, which should see me until the end of the week, if all goes well. Tomorrow promises to be a better day all around.

My hotel in Brionne.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sunday market in Brionne, just across from the hotel. Rain was keeping the crowds away, I suppose.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chateau at Conches. The rain had finished.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road to Orbec. One of the things I like most about France is how the countryside changes in just a few kilometers. So different here from the coast.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Manicured lawn for a camping spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My laundry almost got dry in the sun!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 96 km (60 miles)
Total: 542 km (337 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0