St. Lo to Tours by train: Body and bike both need rest. - Normandy Invasion - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2014

St. Lo to Tours by train: Body and bike both need rest.

The forecast didn't look bad. Sunny Thursday, light rain Friday, sunny Saturday. I could have kept on riding. But, I haven't had a break in ten days, things were starting to fall off the bike which hasn't been worked on since May, and I need to be home next week for an eye exam, and maybe new glasses. So I had to make an Executive Decision. And I decided to head for home. I didn't reach all my goals, there's still much to see in Normandy. In particular I didn't get to the Cotentin peninsula with its Roman ruins at Valogne, fortifications in Cherbourg and lighthouses along the coast. Next time, and there will be a next time, good lord willing and the creek don't rise, as they say. The truth is touring is not my life. A significant fraction of it, to be sure, but not all. I want to see Sue and not just talk to her on the phone. I need to catch up on neglected house projects, like revarnishing the upstairs windows and putting the edging around the garden. I want to talk to my friends in Burgundy, drink wine, eat on the terrace, pull weeds, go to market, in brief, I want to return to normal for a while. This decision did not come easy. I got away this morning and headed for the route to Carentan, but on the way out of St. Lo, I knew I'd have to stop. So I turned for the railway station, bought my ticket, and here I am in Tours. Tomorrow, I'll be on the train for Dijon, and I'll be home in time for dinner. I may write more later , when I've had time to digest all this, and I will be adding photos to the journal in the next week or so, but for now it's over. Who knows how long it will be until I get the bug to head out again? I don't, that's for sure, but I'll keep you posted. Thanks for coming along.

The imposing Gare de Tours and its esplanade.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 km (4 miles)
Total: 788 km (489 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0