Listening to My Body - Mediocre Follow-Up 2019 - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2019

Listening to My Body

Montrose to Ridgway

After three 8,000+ foot summits, my body was really tired. I slept hard again.

Another motel breakfast and I hit the road, heading south in the general direction of Telluride.

I knew I was riding slightly uphill, so I decided to take in the scenery and plod along at 9 mph. The temperature was comfortable and the winds were light.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spotted a coffee shop along the road at Colona where I took a break and had a coffee and a doughnut.

A customer in the shop started chatting with me. She recommended that I not follow the Western Express route over 1,000-foot Lizard Head pass and ride off route to the town of Norwood instead. I am always wary of taking route advice from non-cyclists; the terrain looks different from behind the wheel of a car. I thanked her and we both hit the road for Ridgway.

The terrain was slightly hillier but not granny worthy. The lack of a shoulder and the idiots driving campers made sure I was adequately stimulated.

The last three miles into town were on a concrete trail. It went along a river, through a marsh, and into town. A big improvement over the highway.

I stopped at the town bike shop and talked to Nate about the Norwood thing. He agreed that it was a better route that would also bypass Dolores, CO.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I’ll see how I feel after riding through Dallas Divide, an 8,900 foot pass before Lizard Head.

During my ride today I never felt right. My right thigh cramped a few times and I felt light headed. I think my body is tying to tell me something.

After talking with Nate I decided to have an early lunch and see if I felt like riding on. Lunch made me feel better but I was still a little lightheaded. I checked into a motel and called it a day.

Miles today: 28

Tour miles: 1,647

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 1,655 miles (2,663 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0