Day 8 - Kesan, Turkey to Alexandroupoli, Greece: I biked to another country! - No More Taxi Drivers - CycleBlaze

January 23, 2015

Day 8 - Kesan, Turkey to Alexandroupoli, Greece: I biked to another country!

After a wonderful breakfast, I found my way out of Kesan's suburbs of apartment buildings and headed for the border, 30km or so away.

The border crossing was a bit confusing on the Turkish side, especially when the customs guy couldn't stamp my VAT refund forms. He sent me over to the customs guy for entering Turkey to inspect my goods and stamp my forms. But there wasn't much traffic, so it was okay.

The weather is too warm for me and I'm getting sunburned in January, but not for long: I'm rushing across Greece, so I should be in colder places soon. That and tonight's weather forecast is for up to 50mm of rain. It'll be a good test of my tent.

The road today was a bit rough, not scenic, and agricultural, so no wild camping opportunities. I'm staying at the municipal campground, where they had no idea how to deal with a cyclist with a tent--the first guy tried to turn me away--then inadvertently undercharged me.

Feeling pretty good after almost 80km.

In a new country
Heart 1 Comment 0
I could've picked this empty, flat road, but no.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The thought this was a speed limit for tanks amused me, but then I saw one that said 150.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 355 km (220 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0