Day 70 - Tulln to Persenbeug: And this is why everyone else goes west to east - No More Taxi Drivers - CycleBlaze

March 26, 2015

Day 70 - Tulln to Persenbeug: And this is why everyone else goes west to east

One of the things I really like about this bike route is that cyclists aren't restricted to crossing the Danube at bridges--we can also cross at the hydro plants, a privilege not granted to those with motors. It's also great that the most well-ordered/regulated country I've been to (on this bicycle) is also the one that allows me to freely cross strategic infrastructure, even displaying information about it.

One of the things I really don't like about this route is the wind, at least today. Yesterday's tailwind was great. Today's headwind impeded my progress and made the hilly section seem downright mountainous. By the way, the hilly section is the best section. Heading west starting at Krems, the villages are beautiful and so is the scenery, when not obscured by light rain. I'm glad I don't have a good camera because it would've impeded my progress more than the wind did!

I lost the route for a while in a construction zone, then had the usual trouble finding accommodation, but the main complaint today is definitely the wind. Okay, accommodation can be a secondary complaint: not much open now, and the prices are all for double rooms--no single rate and no negotiation. Oh, and food prices will be my tertiary complaint. Austria is not good for the budget.

No map today. I started at Tulln on the south bank, crossed to the north bank at Altenworth Kraftwerk, and I think I stayed on the north bank, but I'm not 100% sure because I blindly followed the route signs instead of paying attention to where I was. It was a nice break from mental effort.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Krems
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
First tree blossoms!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This lazy castle is practically in the river. All the others are high atop inaccessible rocky peaks. This one is much better for cyclists.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This photo of a windsock is worth 1000 words. Most of them are four-letter words, or variants thereof.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 106 km (66 miles)
Total: 3,273 km (2,033 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0