Day 34 - Nis to Paracin: Headwinds - 7, Me - 0 - No More Taxi Drivers - CycleBlaze

February 18, 2015

Day 34 - Nis to Paracin: Headwinds - 7, Me - 0

Getting out of Nis was as easy as getting in. That alone makes it worth a visit.

Windy again. Tired after 35km, when I left the motorway due to the shoulder disappearing. Oddly enough, the southbound lanes had a shoulder. Ready to stop after 50km. Now, utterly exhausted. Can't see clearly because two days of icy headwinds have dried out my eyes. It's not fair that I have to put up with winter wind but don't get the benefits of a real winter. A proper winter would have snow on the roads, snow that has been driven on enough to become hardpack, filling in all the potholes and other breaks in the road. I can dream, can't I?

Paracin is yet another interesting town. I got stuck paying too much for accommodation, but it's in a wonderfully ugly hotel, that looks like it was a Yugoslavian attempt at a landmark. From the outside, it looks a bit like an old-time futuristic concrete Christmas tree: sort of round with stubby branches, wide at the bottom, narrow at the top. Inside, it has a round central core containing the stairs and a shaky elevator, and the corridor runs in a circle around it, the rooms arranged around the outer edge. My room was on the second floor and I didn't check out the upper floors, so now I'm left wondering how they're set up, since each floor is smaller than the one below it.

This stash was unguarded. So tempting...
Heart 0 Comment 0
My hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Late afternoon view from my room. I think the church looks more like town hall
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 km (53 miles)
Total: 1,584 km (984 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0