Nannup - A new way... - CycleBlaze

Nannup

I can see clearly now the smoke has gone...

15/10/2020

Happy Birthday to me...

We woke to smoke free blue skies today and mild temperatures, a perfect day for cycling. We all had a leisurely breakfast and packed up and headed out from the hut separately. Tim and I were heading for Nannup and Adrian was striking out in a due westerly direction on old forest logging tracks aiming for a  lovely little campsite on the Blackwood River - Canebrake Pool. 

Today is my birthday, so I had a double helping of honey with my muesli and coffee this morning. The FL and I didn't set a pick-up location or date for our rendezvous (how often do you spell that word?) and when we talk on the phone she keeps telling me "mañana." Originally, I was thinking I'd get picked up in Collie, then I thought "Hey, Nannup on my birthday would be nice..." But it now looks like I've got a couple more days up my sleeve. We've agreed Donnelly River would be a great place to meet up, but I'll have to go really slow and spend a couple of days getting there. The FL is visiting an old friend in the wheatbelt and will swing wide through Margaret River on her way back to Perth. Yeah, that will do just fine...   

Tim was at least an hour ahead of me and I ended up having the entire track to myself. The Munda Biddi from Jarrahwood to Nannup follows along an old narrow gauge logging railway - a mini rail trail. 

Some of the sleepers and rails are still there...
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonYes, that looks like a lovely cycling surface. Kathump. Kathump. Kathump.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Victa CalvoHahaha!!
From the photo, you can't see that the cycle track skirts around this bit of the old rail line just offscreen to the right.

But there is the odd embedded sleeper or two to keep you on your toes.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
On the rail trail - Jarrahwood to Nannup
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonMuch better, thanks. I was getting a headache.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

They left bits and pieces of the railway in situ, giving you an idea of what it might have been like 100 years ago. And if you're heading south, it's mostly downhill (yes!!). It's only about a 25 - 30 km ride and I wanted this birthday ride through the bush to last, so I went very very slowly in a slow motion pedalling meditation with frequent stops for photos. 

A bit of trailside history to read
Heart 0 Comment 0
And always, plenty of wildflowers to look at...
Heart 0 Comment 0

The track terminates at the old rail bridge into town (pedestrians only now) and from there it's less than 100 yards to the Nannup Caravan Park, my home for the next two days. 

Flood Tree at the old Nannup rail bridge. If you zoom in you can see the high water mark for each flood. 1982, the top marker, is several metres above the bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0