Day 2 - A New Beginning - CycleBlaze

December 27, 2011

Day 2

"I'm leaving early," I told Ralph, and it made all the difference. I rolled out with another "slow" rider about 30 minutes before the main group.

It was a beautiful morning! The sun was out and it was not long before I was peeling off arm warmers, even though it was a pretty high altitude and winter with some snow on the ground.

I rode up slow, spinning in my littlest gears, feeling nice and relaxed, enjoying the view and the sounds of hawks and a gentle breeze through the trees. Sunrise highway from Pine Valley to Julian is a nice ride with low traffic.

The group straggled up a little at a time, passing me in ones and twos, but by then I was near the top, or at least the top more or less, since he rest of the way to Julian was up and down.

It was there I met Nicki, who toured with my friends last summer. We rode into Julian for buffalo burgers and saw a lot of tourists eating apple pie and seeing the sights.

After lunch the miles began to take their toll and I began to hurt. I also ran into Ralph again and we struggle through the last 10 miles together, just like yesterday, though not quite as late. At least we made it before dark.

Sunrise Highway, not far from Pine Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
We were not the only ones enjoying the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was the "The Truckett's" first foray into the snow
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dang we were pretty high up. If you look closely you can see a road down at the bottom.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting closer to Julian
Heart 0 Comment 0
Julian, California
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 120 miles (193 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0