Day 5; what’s with this weather? - Coasting the New England Coast - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2021

Day 5; what’s with this weather?

Oh, and traveling together

Today was the longest day, no doubt, so at 7:00 we left our room to head out. Breakfast sandwiches at P-town and ate outside, then headed off for our 55-mile ride. 

Riding against traffic on Commercial st. It was a feat I would not like to repeat. Better to do so on one’s feet
Heart 1 Comment 0
The traffic crossing signs show they accept all kinds
Heart 1 Comment 0

I finish my coffee before Kath just a bit, which always leads her to exclaim, “what - did you inhale it?” The route we took was not on the tourism poster most likely because it was a roller coaster. She’s neck and neck on a climb with me and then she says, “let’s see what my bike’s like in power setting 3!” She’s climbing away like Marco Pantani alright, and before I know it she’s out of sight.

Uncle Tim’s bridge in “downtown” Wellfleet. Nothing special about it, I just thought it was neat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cape Cod rail trail about 20 miles in - flat, quiet, and no traffic for the win
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the trail where the scenery looks harsh. In reality, it’s just a house in the marsh
Heart 0 Comment 0
Probably the stop with which we were most fond - the beachside view at Seymour pond
Heart 1 Comment 0

Lunch was pretty much a bore - a turkey wrap from a convenience store. The meal was pathetic; I think the turkey was synthetic. It was supposed to be a turkey club, but this just was not good grub. No lettuce, tomato or even mayonnaise - what were they thinking when they made it - were they in a daze?

We made Hyannis with 10 minutes to spare, the skies opened up soaking the ground all over there. With no indication that the skies would clear, we headed out for dinner donned in our rain gear.

I looked out my motel room and exclaimed, “yikes!” And checked the weather to see all these lightning strikes
Heart 0 Comment 0
We went for some tapas which roughly translates from Spanish to English meaning “small plates”
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was still raining (you can see the drops in the water) but my Gore Tex rain gear had the rain roll off me like an otter
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 207 miles (333 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingHow long does it take you think out the rhymes each day?
Well done!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyTo Mike AylingMike - sometimes I think of them while on the road. Oftentimes I’m trying to figure out how to explain something and have to figure out what rhymes with “Hyannis” or something like that. Since we eat dinner early (we are cycling tourists with hunger after all) I have plenty of time to refine the blog when we return to our overnight spot.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago