Canmore Rest Day - Near Paradise after 30 years of marriage - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2016

Canmore Rest Day

I could hear torrential rain through the open window all night long. It didn't wake me up much as I didn't have to think about riding in the rain. Today. Tomorrow is another story. Sigh.

I was very rest-y this rest day. We have nine riding days left. Due to tight lodging availability, there is no opportunity for another rest day. This is it. Luckily, the climbing is mostly gentle the remainder of the trip and we have a couple of 40ish mile riding days. Mentally I have told myself it will be an easy finish to the trip. Our legs our now made of steel. Very wet steel.

Have you ever heard me complain about the heat? I'm going to try really hard not to do that any more. Wet is okay. Cold is okay. Wet and cold is not so okay. Day after day of wet and cold reduces the fun factor. Cycling has always had a high fun factor. Bah, humbug to Character Building Days.

I have told myself I have to suffer one more day, until we get over the mountain at Vermillion Pass. Then the rain had better stop and it had better warm up or I will be throwing a real temper tantrum.

Jim had done all of the leg work for the direct route south, we just had to call. Truth is, Oren did almost all of the calling. We ended up with four places that we share a cabin or two bedroom suite. Typically we have our own rooms at night. With the last minute scramble, we took what was available and were happy to get it. Shared housing does help on costs.

We stayed inside all day, snug and away from the rain. We ventured out twice to the grocery store. This condo is very well located. We are within 2-3 blocks of two different large grocery stores. I saw the Backroads vans parked at condo parking lots on the way. They must be having a rest day also.

Jacinto and I ate a grocery deli chicken for lunch and I fixed ham and eggs for dinner. It was nice to see all of the selection in the big stores. The packaging of certain familiar items was unfamiliar. Kraft cheese here is sold in very long bars, rather like a Hershey bar on steroids.

We are hoping for an 8 AM departure as tomorrow will be a long, uphill day. If it's raining hard, we will delay for an hour. Temperatures show the highs to be in the 50's.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0