Did he learn anything??: That's a difficult one to answer... - Treadlling SE Asia: Round Three - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2016

Did he learn anything??: That's a difficult one to answer...

09/12/2016

My ultimate objective when I travel is to learn; to learn more about people, about their lives and their culture and the environment they live in. And hopefully, if I'm lucky, maybe learn a bit more about myself.

There were no lightbulb "ah hah!!" moments of blinding clarity. Mostly, what I learn sneaks up on me slowly and subtly, almost without notice, weeks, months or even years after I finish up a trip. I can honestly say that much happened and travelling by bike in Myanmar is an intense & difficult, but rewarding enterprise. Even though I finished up this ride a month ago, I think it will require a bit more time and reflection to figure it out in full. Maybe I never will...

On a more superficial level I learned:

* I don't ever want to cycle southern Myanmar or the big hiways anywhere in the country.
* I'll stay out of the country from February to September(too hot and/or too Hot & Wet)
* Take the trains occasionally - they are a delightful way to engage with the locals and learn
* Buses are the quickest way from A to B in this country, but not as much fun as the trains
* It's not an easy country to cycle travel, but the effort to reward ratio is high
* Take a tent for those times when you get stuck and can't find accommodation
* Go slow - always go slow...

Thanks for following...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0