A Recap: He's going back for more? - Treadlling SE Asia: Round Three - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2016

A Recap: He's going back for more?

If you're at all interested in Round One of this sojurn into Myanmar (also known by its old name of Burma), you can check out my last journal. But if you can't be bothered, then here is the quick recap...

Lessons Learnt:

1) It was hot, very very hot (Lesson Learnt: dont travel here in the dry hot season from February to April).

2) I got sick: very very sick (Lesson Learnt: don't eat fishy meals east of Thailand).

3) I left my bike in Yangon and returned to OZ, with the intent of retrieving the bike in the cooler weather of October/November (Lesson Learnt: Soe Soe and Jeff of BikeWorld Myanmar are fantastic people and their Inn is the place for me when visiting Yangon).

----------

Yes, I'm a bit apprehensive about returning to Myanmar. I didn't find the last time there easy or the cycling in Southern Burma interesting or rewarding. The people were friendly, but the cycling was hard. I'm looking forward to giving the country another go.

My brother thinks I'm crazy going back... he may be right; but that's ok, this is Crazyguyonabike after all.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Deleted AccountGlad you went back, looking forward to this read to see what you thought of Burma and its peoples but it wont be for about 4 days as I'm heading off on my bike this morning for a 4 day ride/camping - little internet.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago