Purchasing some new gear - Trains, World Cup and Ashes - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2019

Purchasing some new gear

Spent today finding some new gear, as my bag is still lost. Have rang Emirates numerous times but no luck yet. Initially working on finding Ortlieb pannier bag but first challenge was that both bike shops I found in Madrid would only sell me a pair of them. Since I took one of my pannier bags as carry on luggage, I only need one but in the end had to buy two. Decided on the Karacol Sport, a bike shop located next to Atocha railway station on the west side as they were slightly cheaper to purchase Ortlieb city pannier bags than at Calmera Bicis shop.

Yesterday I found a street called Calle de la Ribera which had half a dozen camping stores so was able to walk between a few of them finding a Trangia stove, sleeping bag, sleeping mat and rain jacket, all essential gear, just in case my lost bag is found soon. Otherwise may need to buy extra gear like utensils as I only have a spoon from the flight and no cleaning gear. All camping shops took a siesta break between 2pm and 5 so purchased all my new gear by 2pm

After searching online for points of interest in Madrid, I had found Chanberi, a metro station that has been abounded and turned into a museum but only open set hours Thursday to Sundays 11am to 3pm but I ran out of time trying finding it, as it operates on guided tours and I arrived after the last one had left.

So dropped my gear back at my warmshower’s home and then went to collect a helmet and a spare tube as both are in with my lost bag at the other bike shop called Calmera Bicis, located on Calle de Atocha. Before returning to my warmshower home I purchased some groceries as with tomorrow being a Sunday not sure what supermarket will be open in this catholic country.

Since I had been delayed in Madrid took the opportunity to watch a La Liga match at a Stadium a few metro stops from me. Rayo Vallecano is a small club with an old stadium. The atmosphere was good as they were 19th in the league and playing Huesca who are 20th, so a relegation battle and when the home team scored atmosphere increased but it was ruled out by VAR, so game needs in nil all and I presume both teams will be relegated from La Liga. The disappointing part was how many smokers were in the stands making it stink and taking away from my enjoyment. 

My first football experience in Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Collected a Tupperware container on my way home, find them useful for storing food while travelling. I tried booking a train ticket on RENFE website with bicycle booking but website wouldn’t accept bicycle ticket. On most Spanish trains you have to book a bike space and pay 3 euros extra for journeys over 100kms on Media distance trains while allow fully assembled bicycles, unlike fast trains which require bicycle to be disassembled and packed into a box.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0