Getting to Madrid - Trains, World Cup and Ashes - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2019

Getting to Madrid

Where is my bag

Hasn’t been a great start to this trip to Madrid, as a bag containing my helmet and one of my pannier bags with nearly all my camping gear inside went missing, airline thinks it is in Dubai but they still haven’t found it more than 2 days later. Bike box made it through fine. When I arrived in Madrid airline staff told me it was missing, so I assumed they knew where it was, original though it was just because there was only an hour between change of flights in Dubai, bag had just missed the plane. 

So at the moment waiting in Madrid to see if it will turn up and if it doesn’t by Saturday I will have to purchase some new gear. A lot of the gear I have had since university days so 14 years, while I had just purchased a brand new sleeping bag. Annoying last year I put all my gear in the bike box and it all made it to Moscow but since I had to carried the bike box on public transport had split the load up. Thankfully I still have my tent as it was in with my bike and all my electronics and clothing except rain jacket was with me as carry-on. 

Missing bag with helmet and red Ortlieb pannier inside with sleeping gear and stove inside pannier
Heart 0 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSo sorry to hear this, but how could something this garish go missing?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

With the Thursday before Easter a public holiday in Spain along with Good Friday, shops will not be open anyway. It’s currently raining and predicted to continue until Saturday. Looking at taking train for a day trip to Toledo tomorrow.

Thankfully my warmshower host Renata and Goncalo have been so helpful and have allowed me to stay at there place longer, I’m located not far from the main railway station in Madrid called Atocha.

As for getting from home to Madrid, Vline bus to Bendigo and train to Melbourne was easy and Skybus to airport was good with bike box, carrying gear through Southerncross station not great but I managed.

Was at airport by 9:30pm but I thought I would probably not be able to check in before 4 hours before flight at 5am, turned out to be 1:30am check in, so I did try to sleep on my mattress but loudspeakers kept blasting out announcements despite nothing been open including security gate which I found both doesn’t open until 3am, so even when I was able to check in had to wait to get through security along with everyone else. Most food options are closed along with airport lounges so nowhere to wait until my flight left late after 5am.

Skybus with bike box from Southerncross station to Melbourne airport
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 24 hours arrived in Madrid. A part from the bag issue was easy to get on local train out from airport, good hint for Melbourne. 

First day exploring Madrid I was tired but still feeling optimistic, so enjoyed a walking tour learning about how Madrid developed from a small outpost. Then explored the amazing Parque de el Retiro, which is the local main park, similar to Fitzroy gardens in Melbourne or Centennial park in Sydney, has a large lake with people boating on it and some buildings with art displays.

Have found after last year free walking tours are a great way to learn about the area when you first arrive
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main cathedral in Madrid
Heart 0 Comment 0
Main visitor information centre, had cycling maps and brochures on museums and parks and staff spoke English
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Each street sign has pictures explaining there name, this one is the elbow
Heart 0 Comment 0
Monument to Alfonso XII, in Parque de el Retiro
Heart 1 Comment 0
Parque de el Retiro, one of the main parks in Madrid
Heart 0 Comment 0
Atocha railway station, main railway station in Madrid, my warmshower is not far away
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside Atocha, former station area now waiting area, station is large one of the biggest I have seen
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding the metro quiet easy and I have seen a few people with bikes on board
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding the metro
Heart 0 Comment 0

Yesterday my mood wasn’t as great as I have realised that there is a possibility I may never see my items again so wasn’t feeling like exploring to much. Did visit the railway museum house in an old station, was okay but no English information. The navy museum was interesting, it opened in the 1800’s and its focus is on Spain interactions with Asia in that century and its colonies including the Phillipines. English information so was able to learn some history I didn’t know about, was expecting the America’s to have been a focus.

Spent the afternoon riding the metro, you can buy a tourist card that allows unlimited travel so was useful for trying to see what bicycle and camping stores I could find. Have found some stores by not many. In the afternoon was about to go on another free walking tour when Renate message me saying the airline has found a bag. However it turns out it contained items that are definitely not mine including a tent and they didn’t mention the obvious items I’m missing.

Will keep trying to ring the airline but if nothing shows up, will have to buy new gear. Have developed a plan to get the train to Talavera de la Reina on Sunday and start cycling a rail trail from there as the weather looks like it will have improved by then.

Today's ride: 2 km (1 miles)
Total: 2 km (1 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0