The Plan - Morocco - 2024 - CycleBlaze

The Plan

It's an organized tour, so thankfully not much planning is required

By the standards of many people who post on this site, this will be a very short journey, and not terribly exciting since it's a guided tour.  I understand that organized trips aren't for everyone - I do know the joy of self-guided  touring.  This is just one more form of bike travel. I was on a guided trip in Myanmar in late 2019 with the same company (Intrepid)- we had a grand time and I met some fabulous people that I'm still in touch with. That seems so long ago now - pre-COVID, and also before the latest coup in Myanmar made it unlikely for travellers to see the place. 

In this case, I'm very much in favour of an organized tour, because, whether justified or not, I'd probably be reluctant to visit Morocco on my own. But the real advantage is that I convinced a couple of high school friends to come along, and that had the effect of getting my wonderful sister and even more friends to join. In all, this trip will include seven Canadian women who have known each other a very long time. Should be a hoot!  

We'll first fly to Lisbon for a couple of nights, and then it'll be a two week tour starting and ending in Marrakech.  We will be riding hardtail mountain bikes provided by the tour company. I'll attempt to have carry-on luggage only, and am thrilled not to be worrying if my bike will make it to the destination, or if I can manage to re-assemble it without incident.  

In addition to biking just about every day, we should have plenty of time to see the sights, eat lots of delicious food, walk a lot, ride camels, and such.

Thanks to my fellow travellers for providing photos. I know that lots of them aren’t mine.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Susan CarpenterIt should be a fantastic tour - I loved my time in Marrakech and cycling in Atlas Mountains was amazing. Looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Rachael AndersonHow exciting! That’s great you got so many friends and your sister to go along. I can wait to read about your adventures!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Betsy EvansTo Susan CarpenterIt was a great trip! We're all home now. I wish I could have posted during the trip, but: (a) I was too tired each night and (b) very few of our lodgings had internet that was good enough for uploading pics. We covered some of the same ground as your trip, but we had 14 days so covered more ground, and had days off the bike too.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago